The 25 Days of Christmas (Blogging) – Day 4

Today, I am going to talk about why I decided to start writing a  blog in the first place. Over the course of the years I have been playing this game, I had always browsed a user’s blog from time to time just to see what the fascination was with keeping an online journal, though at the time, I never saw having the time to some day write one of my own, largely due to take 19 credits a semester in college and working 30+ hours a week, it didn’t leave much time (even to play the game), let alone write about it.

 

Day 1 – Post Patch Aggression: 4.3 – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Day 2 – Not One, But TWO New Boss Kills

Day 3 – One…… Two…. Three Shadow Priests……

Day 4 – Why I Decided to Write a Blog

 

 

Back in late May/early June, I had begun to field a bunch of questions from a bunch or Real ID and server friends who were leveling up their priests and wanted to know the ins and outs of playing a shadow priest as they leveled up to 85. This was actually a bit of a difficult question to answer based on the fact that I leveled up in BC (and again in wrath) as Holy/Disc, so I didn’t come to learn how to play a shadow priest leveling up. While I never became tired of answering repeat questions, I figured that there had to be a better medium for communicating en masse for questions that people had regarding their priests. A lot of common questions I got looked something like:

 

I see you have a lot of X stat, but Elitist Jerks says to use more of Y stat in your gear. Why do you do this instead of what EJ says?

 

For people still reading up to this point, if you are a fan of Elitist Jerks and what they say about your class, you may not like what I am going to say in the upcoming rant.

 

 

I am not a fan of Elitist Jerks. There, I said it. I think in 6 years, I have visited the site twice.  The main reason I dislike them, is not even being the site itself, but the fact that many players who use it SWEAR ON IT AS THEIR IN GAME BIBLE. This idea is incredulous. If Elitist Jerks told you that to optimize your character, you should suicide yourself on every pull and then get a brez to not have to worry about threat, would you do it? I certainly hope not. The main thing I think a lot of people miss on that site, is that it is to serve as a GUIDE for how your class should go, not the be-all, end-all standard, and if you don’t do it this was you’re now a baddie noob scrub. This is the main reason I created my blog, to offer up my playstyle (from time to time) on how I play as a shadow priest, and sometimes my mage. There is one thing that I do at the end of every rotation/spec/stat post I make, and that is I always leave a disclaimer saying that “This is how I play in raids, but please do not feel obligated to play this spec/rotation/stat stack. Please play whatever way you feel is the most comfortable and enjoyable to you.” Because in this game, that’s the bottom line, fun. I would hope that people who read these kind of posts on here see it as more of a guide than an OMG PLAY LIKE THIS OR ELSE post.

 

 

Of course, over playing this game for 6 years I have been in many positions to offer my experiences on thoughts that are relevant to some people’s interests. I have been a GM in a previous guild for 2.5 years, and have seen the good with the bad, so if something relevant is happening to me or the guild I am in, I want to share my thoughts and/or expertise on the situation. Here is a good example of something that can apply to everyone in any type of guild who does even the smallest amount of dabbling in raid settings. I aim to inform, to provide some insight, to offer some thoughts and different situations that people may not have thought about whether it be in playing a priest or for general wow potpourri. If you take something away from reading what I write, as well as enjoying my dry, erratic humor to possibly bring a laugh here or there, then I am accomplishing what I set out to do with my writing, and I hope you do continue to enjoy what and how I write. I attempt to go for quality over quantity, and you wont see me writing something every day (aside from this challenge which I am using to try and push my limits as an amateur writer).

 

That’s how my blog came to be and why I continue to write going into the future. To those people who read and comment, Thank You, you folks are my inspiration to continue to write and (hopefully) produce quality reads, presumably at work, because where else would you WANT to read this? >.>

 

Tune in for tomorrow’s Episode!

Leave a Reply

