Out with the Old, In with the New – A Holiday Spot

Happy Holidays from here at Simply Business to you, the reader. I hope Santa was kind to you this year and your family gatherings (if you had them), were pleasant and uplifting.

 

The Old: (chronological order)

 

Taking a look back at 2011, this year was a year of new beginnings for me. Starting just prior to the turn of the year, I came into my new home on Eldre’thalas with a new guild in Apotheosis. I had actually joined them on December 4, 2010, but we had not started raiding new stuff until the turn of the year. (But who’s keeping tabs, right?) After my last guild collapsed at the end of the last expansion, I was approached by 4 friends in that guild who had already made the jump over to Apotheosis and told me of the positive prospects of the guild going forward into Cataclysm, and it sounded like the right fit for me. Even though at the time, the guild was nearing capacity for raiding, I was fortunate enough to be given an opportunity to show that I was a valuable asset to the raiding roster, and 1 year later I am still going strong here.

 

Outside of WoW, I came into my own as a first time home-owner and have found the transition into my own challenging, but sustainable. I have gone through 3 jobs in the past year, varying from  tech worker to manager, each with their own set of insurmountable problems. I was also unfortunate to have experienced 2 unnatural phenomena in the same week after being leveled by Hurricane Irene and then subsequently the earthquake that struck Virginia and had aftershocks as far north as New Hampshire.

 

Back to WoW, in the raiding scheme of things we saw Apotheosis clear out all of the normal modes in all of the patch related instances, while also going 7/13 in tier 11, 6/7 in tier 12 and ran out of time before the holiday break in tier 13, for heroic mode encounters. One of my game defining moments, however, came in PvP when after 3 years I was finally able to secure both the Resilient Victory and the We Had It All Along *cough* achievements in Arathi Basin, with no small part of help coming from the guild members I ran with. Those last two achievements helped me get my long sought after Battlemaster title, a long end to a huge time sink in PvP achievements.  We saw the creation of  two Dragonwrath staves to the lucky recipients Majikmarine and Mabriam in the guild, not without some hilarious chain of events including our first recipient strolling right into the lava as he tried to get his heart, and died.

 

2011 also marked the year that I decided to dip my feet into the blogging community and try to make a contribution to the community of people who do this.  And I am still writing today thanks to the people who do read and spread my posts to the masses.

 

In between the Firelands and Dragon Soul patch another event occurred, you may have heard of it, that event being Blizzcon. It was my second venturing to the convention and this time I went with 9 other guild members, as well as met up with many more people from twitter and the blogosphere there. It was a memorable event capped off by a great performance by the Foo Fighters. The only problem is that Blizzcon only lasts 2 days instead of say, seven? Either way, three days of 85 degree weather and the pool bar sure as hell beat the balmy 33 degrees I came home to the following Monday, topped off by a FOOT of snow 2 days after that.

 

After Blizzcon, events pretty much died down both in-game and out. The Dragon Soul was released and we promptly cleared that bad boy en route to heroic modes.  The only other things that happened on my end was my guild surprise which I kept a secret for the most part, which in the end was just a cover for a not-so-elaborate Christmas gift for everyone in the guild, and to wish them all a happy holiday season.

 

The New: (future,unknown)

 

2011 for me was an exciting an interesting year filled with a lot of ups. New people, new guild, new challenges. Whats in store for 2012, you say? The main part in game is preparations for Heroic Madness of Deathwing, and because of the impeccable system blizzard has laid out, we get a year of Deathwing killing for our (dis)pleasure. The world event coming in 4.4 to set up Mists, is right now not slated to have content. That being said, Mists of Pandaria is something to look forward to in the last part of 2012 if it makes it out on time.

 

Perhaps a guild meet up is the future?

Perhaps a 3rd trip to blizzcon?

Perhaps winning the lottery?

 

Only time will tell.  My favorite moment of 2011 was definitely going to Blizzcon this year and meeting a lot of great people from the guild, twitter and games in general. As far as what I am looking forward to most in 2012, I could not tell you, there are a lot of things that can happen that I am excited for, but to narrow it down to one right now is a bit much. I am however looking forward to this year more than the last.

 

So how about it folks, what is your favorite moment of 2011, either in-game or out of game? And what, if anything, are you looking forward to in 2012? Again, a Merry Belated Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone out there.

One Response to “Out with the Old, In with the New – A Holiday Spot”

  1. I was glad to have met you at BlizzCon this year, Srs and to have been able to raid with you in Apotheosis! I like that you’re still blogging and I still believe that there is a market out there for smart shadow priests to be able to share what they know and I hope you continue to fill that void.

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and stay in touch.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

